one little word: content

IMG_2446

IMG_2457

My life is pretty great right now.

I have a strong, supportive dad, two protective brothers, and a mom and sister that I can call my best friends. I have a man who loves me in a such a selfless way that it forces me to view the love God has for me in a bigger way. I have friends who support and encourage me through everything. I have been given the opportunity to work towards a degree that will allow me to carry out one of my biggest dreams.

I am content with who I am, what I stand for, and what I believe in.

For the past few years, I have found myself constantly wishing for the future. Always wanting all the good things that are to come. People say that college is supposed to be the best four years of your life. I enjoy learning and making friends. I would just rather be living in the future right now. I would rather be building relationships with children, not sitting in class with my peers. I would rather be exploring the outdoors, not sitting in the library day after day writing papers and studying. I would rather be reading books and making crafts and cooking, not making power points. I know where I would rather be, and it isn’t here. It is not easy for me to grasp or admit this realization, or to be content with where I am at this point in life. It is a daily struggle for me just to stay positive and to not get caught up in resentment about my current life situation.

I am sharing this because I have been learning a life lesson: all of this wishing and wanting are only going to cause me to miss out on this four year opportunity to better myself. I don’t want that. I don’t want to miss out on the opportunity to get to know someone because I was too busy wishing I was somewhere else. I don’t want to miss the chance to show someone I care because I was too busy caring about myself. If I am dwelling on the future, then I will fail at becoming the person I want to be. I want to learn all that I can, do my best, and improve myself. I want to soak in each and every minute of my life as well as look forward to all that is to come. I want to make the most of every moment.

IMG_2454

IMG_2456 IMG_2458

“Be happy for this moment. This moment is your life.” ~Unknown

Katieanne

Leave a Reply

